The Sherborn Library is closed as of March 13, 2020. See library Website for more information.
The Sherborn Library was a gift to the Town in 1971 from Richard and Mary B. Saltonstall, devoted residents of Sherborn for more than 50 years. Designed by local architect James A.S. Walker, the Library commands a prominent place in the hearts and minds of Sherborn residents. “Although it is a contemporary building,” the journal New England Architect noted in its cover story on the new Library in September 1972, “the vocabulary is based on a foundation of traditional New England materials which give it a timeless regional quality.” In 2017, the Library began a major renovation and expansion of the building which captures the original design essence. The Library is scheduled to reopen in fall 2018, offering the Sherborn community a children’s wing and story-time “tree house”, young adult social and study space, large and small public meeting rooms, new systems, furnishings, and technology. Currently, Library services and collections are located in a temporary location, the 1858 Town House across the street from the construction site, as we eagerly await the completion of this magnificent project.