John Steptoe Award for New Talent

The award is established to affirm new talent and to offer visibility to excellence in writing and/or illustration which otherwise might be formally unacknowledged within a given year within the structure of the two awards given annually by the Coretta Scott King Task Force. These books affirm new talent and offer visibility to excellence in writing or illustration at the beginning of a career as a published book creator. The criteria for eligibility will be the same as those for the Coretta Scott King writing and illustration awards, with the exception that the winner(s)' published works cannot exceed three in number. 
For more information see: John Steptoe Award for New Talent

2023 Author & Illustrator Award Winners

We Deserve Monuments

Jas Hammonds | 2023 Author Award

Choosing Brave

Janelle Washington| 2023 Illustrator Award 

Past Author & Illustrator Award Winners

Me (Moth)

Amber McBride | 2022 Author Award


Tracy Deonn| 2021 Author Award

No Award

| 2021 Illustrator Award 

Thank You, Omu!

Oge Mora | 2019 Illustrator Award

The Sun Is Also a Star

Nicola Yoon | 2017 Author Award

No Award

| 2017 Illustrator Award 

No Award

| 2015 Illustrator Award 

​​​​​​​No Award

 | 2014 Author Award

​​​​​​​No Award

 | 2013 Author Award

No Award| 2013 Illustrator Award 

Zora and Me

Victoria Bond | 2011 Author Award

Seeds of Change

Sonia Lynn Sadler | 2011 Illustrator Award 

The Rock and the River

Kekla Magoon| 2010 Author Award

No Award

| 2010 Illustrator Award 

No Award

| 2010 Author Award


Shadra Strickland | 2009 Illustrator Award 

No Award

| 2008 Illustrator Award 

No Award

| 2007 Illustrator Award 

Jimi & Me

Jaime Adoff | 2006 Author Award

No Award

| 2006 Illustrator Award 

Jazzy Miz Mozetta

Frank Morrison | 2005 Illustrator Award 

My Family Plays Music

Elbrite Brown | 2004 Illustrator Award 

Chill Wind

Janet McDonald | 2003 Author Award

The Moon Ring

Randy DuBurke | 2003 Illustrator Award 

No Award

| 2002 Author Award

Freedom Summer

Jerome Lagarrigue | 2002 Illustrator Award 

No Award

| 2001 Author Award

No Award

| 2001 Illustrator Award 

No Award

| 2000 Author Award

No Award

| 2000 Illustrator Award 

The Skin I'm In

Sharon Flake | 1999 Author Award

​​​​​​​The Piano Man

Eric Velasquez | 1999 Illustrator Award 

No Award

| 1998 Author Award

No Award

| 1998 Illustrator Award 

No Award

| 1997 Illustrator Award 

No Award

| 1996 Author Award

No Award

| 1996 Illustrator Award 

Tears of a Tiger

Sharon Draper | 1995 Author Award

No Award

| 1995 Illustrator Award 

Kids & Teens