Horn Book Awards

First presented in 1967 and customarily announced in June, the Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards are among the most prestigious honors in the field of children's and young adult literature. Winners are selected in three categories: Picture Book, Fiction and Poetry, and Nonfiction. Two Honor Books may be named in each category. On occasion, a book will receive a special citation for its high quality and overall creative excellence. The winning titles must be published in the United States but they may be written or illustrated by citizens of any country. The awards are chosen by an independent panel of three judges who are annually appointed by the Editor of the Horn Book.

For more information see:The Horn Book Awards website

2022 Award Winners

Past Award Winners


Oge Mora | 2020 Picture Books

King and the Dragon Flies

Kacen Callender |  2020 Fiction & Poetry

Infinite Hope

Ashley Bryan |  2020 Nonfiction

They Say Blue

Jillian Tamaki​​​​​​​ | 2018 Picture Books

The Poet X

Elizabeth Acevedo |  2018 Fiction & Poetry

Jazz Day: The Making of a Famous Photograph

Roxane Orgill, Francis Vallejo | 2016 Picture Books

Mr. Tiger Goes Wild

Peter Brown | 2014 Picture Books

Building Our House

Jonathan Bean | 2013 Picture Books

Extra Yarn

Mac BarnettJon Klassen | 2012 Picture Books

No Crystal Stair

Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, R Gregory Christie |  2012 Fiction & Poetry

Blink & Caution

Tim Wynne-Jones |  2011 Fiction & Poetry

I Know Here

Laurel Croza,  Matt James | 2010 Picture Books

Bubble Trouble

Margaret Mahy, Polly Dunbar | 2009 Picture Books

At Night

Jonathan Bean | 2008 Picture Books

Leaf Man

Lois Ehlert | 2006 Picture Books

Traction Man Is Here!

Mini Grey | 2005 Picture Books

Big Momma Makes the World

Phyllis Root, Helen Oxenbury | 2003 Picture Books

Cold Feet

Cynthia DeFelice, Robert Andrew Parker | 2001 Picture Books

Carver: A Life in Poems

Marilyn Nelson  | 2001 Fiction & Poetry

The Longitude Prize

Joan Dash | 2001 Nonfiction

Kids & Teens