Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. The winner(s), recognized for their literary and artistic achievements that demonstrate creativity and imagination to engage children in reading, receives a bronze medal. Honor Book authors and illustrators receive certificates, which are presented at the ALA Annual Conference. The award was established in 2004 and first presented in 2006. 

For more information see: Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

2023 Award Winner

Past Award Winners

Are You Ready to Play Outside?

Mo Willems​​​​​​​ |  2009

Kids & Teens