Coretta Scott King Book Awards

Given to African American authors and illustrators for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions, the Coretta Scott King Book Award titles promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream.

The award is designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

For more information see: The Coretta Scott King Book Awards

2023 Author & Illustrator Award Winners


Amina Luqman-Dawson

| 2023 Author Award

Past Author & Illustrator Award Winners


Floyd Cooper |  2022 Illustrator Award

New Kid

Jerry Craft |  2020 Author Award

The Undefeated

Kadir Nelson |  2020 Illustrator Award

​​​​​​​Underground: Finding the Light to Freedom

​​​​​​​Shane W Evans |  2012

Kids & Teens