The Stonewall Book Awards

The first and most enduring award for GLBT books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table. Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

The Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award and the Stonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award are presented to English language works published the year prior to the announcement date.

For more information see: the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table

2018 Award Winners

Past Award Winners

Desert Boys

Chris McCormick |  2017 Literature

How to Survive a Plague

David France |  2017 Non-Fiction

Prelude to Bruise

Saeed Jones |  2015 Literature

Art On Fire

Hilary Sloin |  2014 Literature

Sweet Like Sugar

Wayne Hoffman |  2012 Literature


Jonathan D KatzDavid C Ward |  2012 Non-Fiction


Emma Donoghue |  2011 Non-Fiction

Stray Dog Winter

David Francis |  2010 Literature

Unfriendly Fire

Nathaniel Frank |  2010 Non-Fiction

Light Fell

Evan Fallenberg |  2009 Literature

The Teahouse Fire

Ellis Avery |  2008 Literature

Dog Years

Mark Doty |  2008 Non-Fiction


Andrew Holleran |  2007 Literature

Fun Home

Alison Bechdel |  2007 Non-Fiction


Abha Dawesar |  2006 Literature

The Fabulous Sylvester

Joshua Gamson |  2006 Non-Fiction

The Master

Colm Tóibín |  2005 Literature

Evolution's Rainbow

Joan Roughgarden |  2005 Non-Fiction

The Book of Salt

Monique Truong |  2004 Literature

Lost Prophet

John D'Emilio |  2004 Non-Fiction

How Sex Changed

Joanne Meyerowitz |  2003 Non-Fiction

The Laramie Project 

Moisés Kaufman |  2002 Literature

The Scarlet Professor

Barry Werth |  2002 Non-Fiction


Sarah Waters |  2001 Literature


William N Eskridge|  2001 Non-Fiction

Po Man's Child

Marci Blackman |  2000 Literature

My Lesbian Husband

Barrie Jean Borich|  2000 Non-Fiction

Award Winners