Pulitzer Prizes

Works are judged in these five categories for books:

For distinguished fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life.
For a distinguished book upon the history of the United States.
For a distinguished biography or autobiography by an American author.
For a distinguished volume of original verse by an American author.
For a distinguished book of non-fiction by an American author that is not eligible for consideration in any other category.

Prizes are also awarded for drama, music and journalism

For more information, see: The Pulitzer Prizes website

2023 Winners

Past Winners

A Strange Loop

Michael R Jackson | 2020 Drama


Tyehimba Jess | 2017 Poetry

​​​​​​​Ozone Journal

Peter Balakian | 2016 Poetry


Gregory Pardlo | 2015 Poetry

​​​​​​​3 Sections

Vijay Seshadri | 2014 Poetry

No Award

 | 2012 Fiction

Ghost Wars

Steve Coll | 2005 Nonfiction

Award Winners