The Pen/Hemingway Award

The late Mary Hemingway, a member of PEN, founded the award in 1976 both to honor the memory of her husband, Ernest Hemingway, and to recognize distinguished first books of fiction. The award is funded by the Hemingway Family, the Hemingway Foundation & Society, and PEN New England. Major support is also provided by Mary & Kurt Cerulli.

For more information see: The Pen/Hemingway Award

2023 Prize Winner

Past Winners

Award Winners