The Nobel Prize for Literature

The very first Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded in 1901 to the French poet and philosopher Sully Prudhomme, who in his poetry showed the "rare combination of the qualities of both heart and intellect." Over the years, the Nobel Prize in Literature has distinguished the works of authors from many different languages and cultural backgrounds. The prize has been awarded to unknown masters as well as authors acclaimed worldwide.

For more information see: The Nobel Prize for Literature

2019 Prize Winners

Olga Tokarczuk |  2018

Past Winners

Kazuo Ishiguro |  2017

Bob Dylan |  2016

Patrick Modiano |  2014

Alice Munro |  2013

Mo Yan|  2012

Herta Müller |  2009

Doris Lessing |  2007

Orhan Pamuk |  2006

Harold Pinter |  2005

J M Coetzee |  2003

Imre Kertész |  2002

V S Naipaul |  2001

Xingjian Gao |  2000

Award Winners