The National Book Critics Circle Awards

The National Book Critics Circle, founded in 1974, is a non-profit organization consisting of nearly 700 active book reviewers who are interested in honoring quality writing and communicating with one another about common concerns. Every year the NBCC presents awards for the finest books and reviews published in English. 

For more information see: The National Book Critics Circle

2019 Winners

Know My Name

Chanel Miller |  2019 Autobiography

Past Winners

The Carrying

Ada Limón |  2018 Poetry

Feel Free

Zadie Smith |  2018 Criticism


Louise Erdrich |  2016 Fiction


Matthew Desmond |  2016 Nonfiction

Wolf Hall

Hilary Mantel |  2009 Fiction

The Age of Wonder

Richard Holmes |  2009 Nonfiction

Cheever: A Life

Blake Bailey |  2009 Biography


Rae Armantrout |  2009 Poetry


Roberto Bolaño |  2008 Fiction

The Forever War

Dexter Filkins |  2008 Nonfiction


Mary Jo Bang |  2007 Poetry

The Rest Is Noise

Alex Ross |  2007 Criticism


Susan Stewart |  2003 Poetry

River of Shadows

Rebecca Solnit |  2003 Criticism


Ian McEwan |  2002 Fiction

Being Dead

Jim Crace |  2000 Fiction

Award Winners