The Eisner Awards

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, commonly shortened to the Eisner Awards, are prizes given for creative achievement in American comic books, sometimes referred to as the comics industry's equivalent of the Academy Awards. They are named in honor of the pioneering writer and artist Will Eisner.

The nominations in each category are generated by a five to six member jury, then voted on by comic book professionals and presented at the annual San Diego Comic-Con held in July

For more information see: Comic-Con International: San Diego 

2020 Winners

Bitter Root

David Walker, Chuck Brown, Sanford Greene |  2020 Continuing Series


Nnedi Okorafor, Tana Ford |  2020 Graphic Album - Reprint

Are You Listening?

Tillie Walden |  2020 Graphic Album - New

The House

Paco Roca |  2020 International

Past Winners

Giant Days

John Allison, Max Sarin |  2019 Continuing Series

Mister Miracle

Tom King, Mitch Gerads |  2019 Limited Series

​​​​​​​Gideon Falls

Jeff Lemire, Andrea Sorrentino |  2019 New Series


Marjorie Liu, Sana Takeda |  2018 Continuing Series

Black Panther: World Of Wakanda

Roane Gay, Ta-Nehisi Coates, Alitha E Martinez |  2018 Limited Series


Jillian Tamaki|  2018 Graphic Album - Reprint

My Favorite Thing Is Monsters

Emil Ferris|  2018 Graphic Album - New

Run For It

Marcelo D'Salete |  2018 International


Brian K Vaughan, Fiona Staples |  2017 Continuing Series


Jason Shiga |  2017 Graphic Album - Reprint

Wonder Woman: The True Amazon

Jill Thompson|  2017  Graphic Album - New

The World of Edena

Moebius |  2017 International

Black Hammer

Jeff Lemire, Dean Ormston |  2017 New Series

Southern Bastards

Jason Aaron, Jason Latour |  2016 Continuing Series

The Fade Out

Ed Brubaker, Sean Phillips |  2016 Limited Series


Noelle Stevenson |  2016 Graphic Album - Reprint


Peter Kuper|  2016  Graphic Album - New

The Realist

Asaf Hanuka |  2016 International

Paper Girls

Brian K Vaughan, Cliff Chiang |  2016 New Series


Brian K Vaughan, Fiona Staple​​​​​​​ |  2015 Continuing Series

Through the Woods

Emily Carroll |  2015 Graphic Album - Reprint

This One Summer

Mariko TamakiJillian Tamaki |  2015  Graphic Album - New

Blacksad: Amarillo

Juan Díaz Canales, Juanjo Guarnido |  2015 International


Shannon WattersGrace EllisNoelle Stevenson, Brooke A Allen |  2015 New Series


Brian K Vaughan, Fiona Staple |  2014 Continuing Series

The Wake

Scott Snyder, Sean Murphy |  2014 Limited Series


Jeff Smith |  2014 Graphic Album - Reprint

The Property

Rutu Modan |  2014  Graphic Album - New

Goddam This War!

Jacques Tardi, Jean-Pierre Verney |  2014 International


Brian K Vaughan, Fiona Staple |  2013 Continuing Series

No Award

| 2013 Limited Series

King City

Brandon Graham |  2013 Graphic Album - Reprint

Building Stories

Chris Ware | 2013 Graphic Album - New

Blacksad: A Silent Hell

Juan Díaz Canales, Juanjo Guarnido |  2013 International


Brian K Vaughan, Fiona Staple |  2013 New Series


Mark Waid, Marcos Martin, Paolo Rivera, Joe Rivera |  2012 Continuing Series

Criminal: The Last of the Innocent

Ed Brubaker, Sean Phillips | 2012 Limited Series

Jim Henson's Tale of Sand

Ramon K Perez | 2012 Graphic Album - New

No Award

 |  2012 New Series


John LaymanRob Guillory |  2011 Continuing Series


Fábio MoonGabriel Bá | 2011 Limited Series

Wednesday Comics

Mark Chiarello |  2011 Graphic Album - Reprint


Daniel Clowes | 2011 Graphic Album - New

Return of the Dapper Men

Jim McCann, Janet Lee | 2011 Graphic Album - New

The Walking Dead

Robert Kirkman, Charles Adlard |  2010 Continuing Series

Absolute Justice

Alex RossJim Krueger,  Doug Braithewaite |  2010 Graphic Album - Reprint

Asterios Polyp

David Mazzucchelli | 2010 Graphic Album - New

The Photographer

Emmanuel Guibert, Didier Lefévre, Frédéric Lemercier |  2010 International


John LaymanRob Guillory | 2010 New Series

All-Star Superman

Grant Morrison, Frank Quitely |  2009 Continuing Series

Hellboy Library Edition 

Mike Mignola |  2009 Graphic Album - Reprint

Swallow Me Whole

Nate Powell | 2009 Graphic Album - New

The Last Musketeer

Jason |  2009 International

The Invincible Iron Man

Matt Fraction, Salvador Larroca | 2009 New Series

Y the Last Man

Brian K Vaughan, Pia Guerra, Jose Marzan Jr |  2008 Continuing Series

Mouse guard: Fall 1152

David Petersen |  2008 Graphic Album - Reprint

Exit Wounds

Rutu Modan | 2008 Graphic Album - New

I Killed Adolf Hitler

Jason |  2008 International

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Season 8

Joss WhedonBrian K Vaughan, Georges Jeanty,  Andy Owens | 2008 New Series

Award Winners