The American Book Awards

The American Book Awards were created to provide recognition for outstanding literary achievement from the entire spectrum of America’s diverse literary community. The purpose of the awards is to recognize literary excellence without limitations or restrictions. There are no categories, no nominees, and therefore no losers. The award winners range from well-known and established writers to under-recognized authors and first works. There are no quotas for diversity, the winners list simply reflects it as a natural process. The Before Columbus Foundation views American culture as inclusive and has always considered the term “multicultural” to be not a description of various categories, groups, or “special interests,” but rather as the definition of all of American literature. The Awards are not bestowed by an industry organization, but rather are a writers’ award given by other writers.

For more information see: The Before Columbus Foundation

2022 Winners

The Diné Reader: An Anthology of Navajo Literature

Esther G Belin, Jeff Burgland, Connie A Jacobs, Anthony K Webster | 2022

Nature Poem

Tommy Pico​​​​​​​ | 2018

Patriarchy Blues

Rena Priest | 2018

Beasts of Burden

Sunaura Taylor | 2018

Past Winners


Holly Hughes | 2017

Sounding Thunder

Brian D McInnes | 2017

Blood at the Root

Patrick Phillips​​​​​​​ | 2017

Race and the Totalitarian Century

Vaughn Rasberry​​​​​​​ | 2017

Year of the Rat

Marc Anthony Richardson​​​​​​​ | 2017

See You in the Streets

Ruth Sergel​​​​​​​ | 2017


Solmaz Sharif​​​​​​​ | 2017

Memory Foam

Adam Soldofsky​​​​​​​ | 2017

Curious Land

Susan Muaddi Darraj​​​​​​​ | 2016


John Keene​​​​​​​ | 2016

Los Duros

Manuel Luis Martinez | 2015

Vital Signs

Juan Delgado​​​​​​​ | 2014


Sterling D Plumpp | 2014

Eye of Witness

Jerome Rothenberg, Heriberto Yepez | 2014

Kill Anything That Moves​​​​​​​

Nick Turse | 2014

Singing In Magnetic Hoofbeat

Will Alexander | 2013

San Francisco Chinatown

Philip P Choy | 2013

A Simple Revolution

Judy Grahn | 2013


Ed Bok Lee | 2012

The Translator's Sister

Mary Winegarden | 2012

The Death of Stalin

Ivan Argüelles | 2011

Insides She Swallowed

Sasha Pimentel Chacón | 2011

The Afro-Latin@ Reader

Miriam Jiménez Román, Juan Flores | 2011

World Ball Notebook

Sesshu Foster | 2010

Live from Fresno y Los

Stephen D Gutierrezi | 2010

Black, Brown & Beige

Franklin Rosemont, Robin D G Kelley | 2010

Poems for the Millennium: Volume Three​​​​​​​

Jerome Rothenberg, Jeffrey C Robinson | 2010

Pacific Raven​​​​​​​

Kathryn Waddell Takara | 2010

Crazy Love

Pamela Uschuk | 2010

Award Winners