The Agatha Awards

The Agatha Awards, named for Agatha Christie, are literary awards for mystery and crime writers who write in the cozy mystery subgenre (i.e. closed setting, no sex or violence, amateur detective) and are awarded annually at the Malice Domestic Conference.

For more information see: The Malice Domestic website

2022 Award Winners

A World of Curiosities

Louise Penny |  2022 Contemporary Novel

Past Award Winners

Cajun Kiss of Death

Ellen Byron |  2021 Contemporary Novel

Death at Greenway

Lori Rader-Day |  2021 Historical Novel

All the Devils are Here

Louise Penny  |  2020 Contemporary Novel

The Last Mrs. Summers

Rhys Bowen |  2020 Historical Novel

The Long Call

Ann Cleeves  |  2019 Contemporary Novel

Charity's Burden

Edith Maxwell  |  2019 Historical Novel

Mardi Gras Murder

Ellen Byron  |  2018 Contemporary Novel

The Widows of Malabar Hill

Sujata Massey  |  2018 Historical Novel

Glass Houses

Louise Penny  |  2017 Contemporary Novel

In Farleigh Field

Rhys Bowen  |  2017 Historical Novel

A Great Reckoning

Louise Penny  |  2016 Contemporary Novel

The Reek of Red Herrings

Catriona McPherson  |  2016 Historical Novel

Look Upon the Land

Margaret Maron  |  2015 Contemporary Novel

Dreaming Spies

Laurie R King  |  2015 Historical Novel

Truth Be Told

Hank Phillippi Ryan |  2014 Contemporary Novel

Queen of Hearts

Rhys Bowen  |  2014 Historical Novel

The Wrong Girl

Hank Phillippi Ryan |  2013 Contemporary Novel

A Question of Honor

Charles Todd |  2013 Historical Novel

The Beautiful Mystery

Louise Penny  |  2012 Contemporary Novel

Three-Day Town

Margaret Maron |  2011 Contemporary Novel

Naughty In Nice

Rhys Bowen |  2011 Historical Novel

Mariner's Compass

Earlene Fowler |  1999

Butchers Hill

Laura Lippman |  1998

The Devil In Music

Kate Ross |  1997

Award Winners